What’s so Bad About an “Oops” Anyway?

If you’re not prepared to be wrong, you’ll never come up with anything original.

– Ken Robinson, TED Talk

You know when life gets so busy, how you feel like you are living underground, like you have only a headlamp on and you can only see what’s right in front of you, and you know the walls are close and you don’t have much room to move, so mixed with panic and exhaustion you keep putting one foot in front of the other hoping to find the end somewhere? Ever get that feeling?

There’s that twisted part of me that loves being busy like that. Getting one step closer to that finish line does wonders for my results oriented personality. The physical part of me hates it. My body hates the lack of sleep, and my brow becomes permanently furrowed as an act of protest to what I am forcing myself to do.

Truth be told, I can’t seem to get my brain to shut off until about 3am, and I hate the wasted hours of sleeping in. I am going to have hell to pay. I am just hoping it’s not until Christmas break- I can’t afford to get sick right now.

Tonight’s class was brilliant. My group and I did an amazing presentation on Karim Rashid and I am systematically overcoming my anxiety over doing presentations (this program loves making us do presentations).

But moreover, we discussed the topic of CONCEPT and how all our design projects will come from a concept. Continually coming up with fresh, innovative concepts is one of the biggest challenges facing us design students in the months to come, so thus began the conversation around creativity.

I stayed an extra 40 minutes after class continuing the discussion with my instructor. My mind just LOVED tonight’s class.

We watched a TED Talk that discussed how our culture systematically destroys creativity through our education system…

Give the video 60 seconds and I am sure it will pull you

The whole idea of how the fear of making a mistake is culturally ingrained in us and actually gets in our way of embracing deeper learning through trying things out (rather than just reproducing what we’re told to think/do). The quote at the top is a keeper. Such a solid reminder.

Leave a Reply

