Inspiration Spark: Max Wanger

My walls have died.

Sometimes you come across something that is just so right. It sparks something. You can’t quite put your finger on it, but you can feel a little fire in your belly… the prints (including polaroid scans) by Max Wanger just sparked me.

You’ll recognize this one from my last post. After seeing bri’s dining room (the image that really got me), I became an instant fan.

His use of negative space is absolutely brilliant. It tells such a different story, the ones where the image is in the bottom portion of the photo give a lofty sense to the images- like being a little kid and staring up at that huge sky, and the images off to the side bring a sense of thought into the picture, like there is lots going on inside the mind of the subject.

20130321-123205.jpg

The colours, and blurred lines  of his polaroid scans bring life to the images.

20130321-123224.jpg

Washed out, over exposed images make it seem as if the subject is disappearing- like they are in the process of transformation.

20130321-124221.jpg

I love the world through Max Wanger’s eyes, such an inspiration. His lifestyle photos really ignite a romance with photography. When I finish this semester, I think I’ll need to spend a day with my camera.

20130321-123136.jpg

20130321-123121.jpg

All images from Max Wanger Print Shop and Blog

Leave a Reply

