Strength in the Struggle

No one tells you just how much you have to sacrifice.

Tuition. Homework. Obligations.

I won’t sugar coat it. This year has been tough. Money has never been so tight, and time… where is it? Neither of us feel like we can manage to find any extra.

I think I’m finding it to be a little extra struggle lately. I’m tired. Very very tired. I want a weekend, a WHOLE weekend with my husband that doesn’t involve late nights at the restaurant, or homework, or meetings.

I know we’ll look back on this time and feel so grateful that we put our personal lives on hold (for many of my friends, it’s been almost a year since I’ve even seen them!) in order to get “the job” done and put ourselves into careers we’ll love, but right now, I feel pretty parched.

What I can say is that I am grateful for the future. I can’t wait to see Scotty graduate this year. I have never been more proud of him. The guy has been working off his feet. I don’t think he’s had a “day off” (the term is used lightly because there is always homework to be done) since Christmas. He has been going at his max for months now. I don’t think anyone could feel better about what they’ve accomplished than him.

So there’s that. Pretty proud over here. Broke, tired, stressed, but proud.

Leave a Reply

