My Apartment Smells Like Burnt Sugar and Oranges.

The thunder is starting to roll in and I’ve just polished of a plate of crepes suzette. I think I might spend the day doing a scary movie marathon. I absolutely adore this time of year. The amazing late-summer storms make it that much better.

With Scotty taking on two food and nutrition classes (one Jr and one Sr), we’ve been brainstorming ideas and trying recipes. One of my specialties is crepes. I loooooove crepes. It’s my go-to when we have friends over for breakfast (and sometimes dinner). I think I ate crepes for dinner every night on our honeymoon. I never strayed from the pineapple and banana crepes flambed in dark rum. I honestly could not get enough.

This morning I taught Scotty how to make crepes and berry sauce. My Grandma always did hers with blueberries and this incredible vanilla sauce- I credit her with my fondness (obsesssion) for those paper-thin confections.

A few Christmases ago, after watching a cooking show, I finally got up the guts to flambe and made crepes Suzette for the family. Now I get excited to light my food on fire. I would argue that nothing makes your house smell as amazing as crepes Suzette.

20130915-120327.jpg

20130915-120313.jpg

I won’t lie. I LOVE that Scotty is teaching foods. He knows his way around the kitchen (his specialty is muffins and fresh crab cakes), but it has only ever been when the mood struck. Now he is constantly looking up recipes and doing practice runs of what he’s going to teach the coming week. There’s something about the colder weather and shortened days that gets me excited to cook and I love that it’s something we can do together. To me, cooking isn’t a chore- it’s a great way to unwind after a long day at work.

Cooking is like love. It should be entered into with wild abandon or not at all.

-Hariet Van Horne

20130915-120257.jpg

One comment


Leave a Reply

